On June 3, 1858, in a small rented building in Faribault, Minnesota, The Rev. Dr. James Lloyd Breck established the Episcopal mission school and seminary from which Shattuck-St. 10bet十博最佳体育平台 has developed and prospered. When the school first opened, there were 45 young girls and boys and six divinity students, both Native American and white.
大约就在这个时候, the newly established Episcopal diocese of Minnesota selected Henry Benjamin Whipple as its first Bishop. 惠普尔主教 established his home in Faribault and, in 1860, took over the reins of the school, changing Breck’s ambitious plan for “Bishop Seabury University” into something more realistic—”an honest school.”
In 1864, when Seabury Hall was completed, the school moved to its present site on the bluffs above the Straight River. With this change, the institution became a boarding school for young men and boys. In 1865, 汤米嘎吱声, an 英语 divinity student recently returned from the Civil War, started the boys drilling with sticks—and so began a military program that would last here for more than a century.
By 1866, more room was needed and, through the largess of Dr. George Cheyne Shattuck of Boston, Shattuck Hall was built specifically for the boys. Soon the grammar school became known as “Shattuck.” That same year, 惠普尔主教 opened a school for girls, St. Mary’s Hall, in his home in downtown Faribault. The girls remained there until 1872 when the Bishop moved to a new house and St. Mary’s Hall was turned over to a board of trustees. 同样是在1872年, the Chapel of the Good Shepherd was built through the generosity of 奥古斯塔沙姆韦 of Chicago. Though she lost all her property in the great Chicago Fire, she kept her promise to build a chapel for “the Bishop’s boys’ school” by sending Whipple her insurance checks. With its rare, all-stone spire, it became the focal point of the Shattuck campus.
到1883年,圣. Mary’s had outgrown its facilities, 和一个大, 华丽的建筑, often referred to as “the Castle on the Rhine,” was built on the bluffs, less than a half mile south of Shattuck. That unique building burned in 1924, and the limestone structure that stands today was built less than a year later.
Both schools saw rapid growth during the next few years. Dr. James Dobbin, who had succeeded Dr. Breck in 1866 and who served as Rector of Shattuck School until 1914, was responsible for the construction of many beautiful limestone buildings, including the first Whipple Hall and the present Shumway Hall. 1901年,博士. 多宾成立了圣. James School for younger boys about a half mile north of Shattuck. In 1932, Seabury Theological Seminary merged with Western Theological Seminary and moved to Evanston, 伊利诺斯州.
In 1972, the three schools, Shattuck, St. 十博最佳体育平台的和圣. James, were joined into what is known today as Shattuck-St. 10bet十博最佳体育平台. In 1974, the military program was discontinued.
In 1988, the residential and academic programs were reconfigured so that the Middle School students (grades 6-8) were at the St. Mary’s campus and the Upper School students (grades 9-12) were at the Shattuck Campus.
2003 marked the beginning of a period of growth and development for the School. The School campus physically changed with the addition of two ice arenas, the Dane Family Fieldhouse and outdoor turf field, 绳索课程, a new athletic training facility, Fayfield大厅, 和金厅, as well as countless renovations of academic and residential buildings. Additionally, the School developed the unique Center of Excellence model that Shattuck-St. Mary’s is now known for. There are currently nine Centers of Excellence spanning across academics, athletics, and the arts. 这, combined with the School’s innovative blended learning model and ScholarShift program, 使得Shattuck-St. Mary’s the prominent academic institution it is today.